J263 – Coloring Experiment: Chips Don’t Lie

Click for enlarged version

[12/14/2009] Finals week~ I only have two this year, but they’re pretty brutal. The first one was kinda eh, and the one on Wednesday …

Let’s just say it’s thermodynamics, and leave it at that, k?

Anyway, here’s another coloring experiment. It’s a very painterly style (I was advised by one of my friends; her art style comes through a bit here), with a lot of color variation, etc.

I’m beginning to think that painterly stuff doesn’t suit me. My drawing style’s kind of simple anyway, so trying to use this sort of style is a bit … pretentious? I think I’ll try going all the way in the other direction (total cel-shading style) as another experiment …

This post was going to be accompanied by a parody of Shakira’s “Hips Don’t Lie”, but finals intervened. Sorry!

Leave a comment